top of page

Making the Most of My Time

After I finished up my internship at DSW, I had two short weeks before I started school again. In those two weeks, I wanted to make the most of the free time that I had. I mean, I deserved it right!? With the little time off that I had, I traveled to Ontario, Canada and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

 

I have been traveling to Canada since I was little. My aunt and uncle would travel up there and rent a cottage on Georgian Bay, so my family and I would always go to visit them for a about a week during the summer. I have created so many great memories up there like learning how to water ski, traveling to different islands throughout the bay, and climbing rocks with my little siblings.

So this summer, my family and I traveled up to my aunt and uncle's cottage that they bought on Lake Muskoka! I had never been there before and I couldn't wait to go. My boyfriend, Dylan, and my sister's boyfriend came along too so we had two cars packed full. After the long 9 hour drive, we finally arrived at beautiful Lake Muskoka where my aunt and uncle have their beautiful cottage right on the water. There were countless things to do there and we took full advantage of everything that the lake had to offer. We did everything from boating around the islands, to going into the local town.

On our first full day, we took a boat ride into one of the small towns on the lake, Port Carling. Here, I am wearing a Target swimsuit and I decided to throw on a pair of Lululemon shorts since we would be walking around town. Since I was outside, hiking, swimming, and boating, I was in pretty comfortable clothing the entire time.

On the second day, all of us took a hike to get an amazing view of the Lake Muskoka. We hiked along Huckleberry Trail and it was a nice and easy hike. Above is Dylan and after we got to the top of the trail.

On our last morning, my uncle took all of us to his favorite bakery in town. Don's Bakery has the best apple fritter that I have every had in my life, for real. It was so good and the bakery was packed with people. We all bought so many sweets that we literally ate pastries for the rest of that day.

Until next time, Lake Muskoka!

 

After Canada, Dylan and I went straight to Indianapolis to catch our flight and spend a couple days in Myrtle Beach. We spent the weekend before I went back to school here and I was looking forward to some much needed relaxation and beach time. I had never been to Myrtle Beach before and I wanted to do as much as I could with the short time that we had.

On our first night, we had some time to explore the main strip on Ocean Drive. We had some drinks at a place called 8th Ave Tiki Bar & Grill. They have an amazing happy hour and their appetizers were amazing. If you ever have a chance to go there, you HAVE to try their hummus and pita, so delicious. All of their staff members were so nice and the atmosphere was really great. At the end the night, we walked along the beach and did a little bit of exploring along Ocean Drive.

On our last day, I was able to check something off my bucket list! Learn how to SURF!! Dylan and I had our own private lessons and we both got up right away! We took lessons through Kokopelli Surf Camp and we had an amazing instructor teach us how to surf. It was way more tiring then I thought it would be and we both got a pretty good workout. I think Dylan and I found a new hobby;)

-XO Emma


  • Black Instagram Icon
RECENT POST
bottom of page