top of page

New Beginnings


We all know that the fashion and retail industry isn't the easiest to be a part of right now. I am currently a fashion merchandising major with a marketing minor at Ball State University. I absolutely love my major and I think it is perfect for me, even though it can be a tough industry and jobs may be hard to come by in exactly what you want. So for my major, I have to get an internship for school credit in order for me to graduate. Most of my fellow classmates do this during the summer before their senior year. So, this past school year, I was completely dedicated to finding the perfect summer internship... This drove me to the edge of insanity, literally!!

This internship would potentially open the door to so many possibilities in this rollercoaster of a retail world. I would lay awake at night just thinking about all of the internships I had applied for, what other ones I still needed to apply for, what interviews I had coming up, what happens if I don't find one, and well, you get the gist. I went through so many ups and downs in this process and I was beginning to lose hope in finding the perfect internship. This whole process lasted over 6 months and it was really starting to take a toll on me, clearly.

I had so many people say to me "the right thing will come along" or "you just need to be patient" and I would just roll my eyes. I was losing my positivity and this was very unlike me.

Then, when I was about to give up, I got an email from DSW Headquarters in Columbus, Ohio and that's where this story begins. My interview process went amazing and getting the call that I had an offer to be apart of the DSW's Kids Merchandising and Planning team was the best news I had heard in awhile.

So, I am just about done with my first week as a DSW Intern and I couldn't be happier. I absolutely love the environment and culture within DSW and there is so much passion within their company. It is even written all over their wall! I think that these words are so powerful in a workforce and every company should strive to work and live by these terms.

The reason I wrote this post is to tell people that no matter how hopeless things may seem, the right opportunity will come along and everything will seem worth it, even if you don't see it now:)

XO

-Emma


  • Black Instagram Icon
RECENT POST
bottom of page